Bio-Rad Laboratories Logo

To Boldly Flow

Gain confidence to start flow cytometry

Sept 18, 2018, 08.00 PDT | 11.00 EDT | 16.00 BST | 17.00 CEST

Mike Blundell, PhD, Product Manager   View speaker bio ▸

Flow cytometry is a powerful technique used widely in biological research, but if you are just beginning your flow journey, it can be hard to know where to start. In this webinar we take you through a step-by-step guide to starting flow cytometry with useful information and tips to help you plan, execute and interpret your experiments, ensuring you get the best results. We also demonstrate how the new panel builder tool from Bio-Rad can help you design your experiments, no matter how many colors you plan to use.

In this 45 min webinar, participants will learn the important steps to obtaining better flow cytometry data and get advice on how to apply this knowledge to improve your experiments.

The steps include:

  • Instrument configuration
  • Sample preparation
  • Marker expression
  • Cell frequency
  • Fluorophore choice
  • Antibodies
  • Controls
  • Staining protocols
  • Data analysis

Speaker Bio

speaker headshot

Mike Blundell graduated from the University of Edinburgh with a B.Sc. in Immunology. He then moved to University College London where he joined the group of Prof. Adrian Thrasher and obtained his Ph.D. His thesis research was focused on the primary immunodeficiency Wiskott Aldrich Syndrome. He investigated novel activating mutations and developed lentiviral vectors for use in gene therapy treatments, some of which have now been used in clinical trials. Mike contributed to over 50 peer reviewed papers and has now left academia to become a Product Manager for Flow Cytometry.

hero image

Can't make it? Sign up anyway!
We'll give you access to the recorded webinar.
Sign up for immediate access to on-demand webinar.


Copyright © 2018 Bio-Rad Laboratories, Inc. | ACD18-0001 | All rights reserved. | Privacy Policy