Bio-Rad Laboratories Logo

International Thalassaemia Day
#Test2Control Webinar

Thalassemia and Sickle Cell: Past, Present and Future

Webinar jointly organized with TIF

Session 1: May 8, 4:00 PM IST/6:30 PM SGT
May 8, 12:30 PM CEST/3:30 AM PDT
Session 2: May 8, 4:00 PM CEST
May 8, 7:30 PM IST/10:00 PM SGT/7:00 AM PDT
Session 3: May 8, 12:00 PM PDT
May 8, 9:00 PM CEST, May 9, 12:30 AM IST/3:00 AM SGT

Dr. Michael Angastiniotis, Medical Advisor, Thalassaemia International Federation (TIF) & Dr. Daniel E. Bauer, MD PhD   View speaker bio ▸

Although thalassemia and sickle cell are among the most common monogenic hemoglobin disorders in the world, disease awareness is still far from acceptable.

Dr. Michael Angastiniotis, the Medical Advisor of the Thalassaemia International Federation, will cover global strategies to control these severe hemoglobin disorders and to improve awareness and education through carrier screening. Dr. Daniel E. Bauer, a renowned Harvard physician-scientist, will share new advances in gene therapy to cure affected births. In commemoration of International Thalassaemia Day on May 8th, Bio-Rad invites you to register for our #Test2Control Thalassemia and Sickle Cell Webinar about the past, present, and future of monitoring and treating hemoglobinopathies.

The speakers of this 60-minute webinar will:

  1. Discuss effective programs for awareness and control
  2. Review established testing protocols
  3. Introduce recent discoveries and applications of gene therapy

Speaker Bio

speaker headshot

Dr. Michael Angastiniotis is the Medical Advisor of the Thalassaemia International Federation, Special Advisor for control of hemoglobinopathies in the Mediterranean, and a member of the WHO Expert Advisory Panel on Human Genetics. He graduated in medicine from the University of Aberdeen and obtained his Diploma in Pediatrics from the Royal College of Physicians of Glasgow.

speaker headshot


Dr. Daniel E. Bauer is a Principal Faculty at the Harvard Stem Cell Institute, an Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at Harvard Medical School, a Principal Investigator and Staff Physician at Dana-Farber/Boston Children’s Cancer and Blood Disorders Center and a recipient of many research awards. He received his ScB in Biology from Brown University and MD-PhD from the University of Pennsylvania.

View the Webinar Series

Can't make it? Sign up anyway!
We'll give you access to the recorded webinar.
Sign up for immediate access to on-demand webinar.


Copyright © Bio-Rad Laboratories, Inc. | MA19-0068 | All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy Policy